"Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint on it you can." – Danny Kaye

“Our distrust is very expensive.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Bridge is a partnership game – we hear this often.  Just what does “partnership” imply?

A solid partnership blends cooperation, hard work, and continuous communication.  You collaborate with your partner.  You set goals; you decide how to reach those goals.  Your convention card is discussed, re-discussed, and sometimes just plain cussed.  You decide what conventions to use, how to use them, and what your style will be.   Most importantly –

YOU FOLLOW YOUR OWN RULES UNTIL YOU MUTUALLY DECIDE TO CHANGE THEM.  That is TRUST.

This is especially important at the beginning of a partnership, when both partners are getting used to each other.

I am reminded of a new partner I played with years ago.  At first he made wild and “innovative” bids and plays.  I kept up my steady pace, played by the rules, and said nothing.  Quite hard for a woman.  After a few sessions, my partner played much better bridge.  He trusted me; I had my bids, and I had my passes.  We then did consistently well – it was worth the struggle.  My tongue was sore for a while, though.

***

BOOK ORDERS NOW BEING ACCEPTED!

My classic book, SECRETS YOUR BRIDGE FRIENDS NEVER TELL YOU [endorsed by Marty Bergen] is now available in paperback!  To order an autographed copy. email me at chunsberger@cox.net (via email only – discounted at $5.95).  For more information, visit my website at www.cathyhunsberger.com.

Also available at amazon.com!

If you prefer an e-book visit ebooksbridge.com.

Leave a comment