"Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint on it you can." – Danny Kaye

I have a regular bridge partner, however, and believe me, it can be hard enough playing with your best friend, never mind your spouse.  Sometimes I think the only reason my partner and I have survived over 20+ years of bridge is that we don’t have to go home together.  We are both first-borns and both Taurus’s.  Need I say more?  However, we are also good communicators and very persistent.  We are both total bridge nuts.  We have similar interests outside of bridge (yes, sometimes there is life outside of bridge).  So we have survived and enjoyed the journey.

I did run across a rare couple who has been married for 45 years and has spent 35 of those years playing bridge together.  They assure me they still speak to each other – on Sunday mornings, around 8 a.m.  Even they are not immune, however.  They confess they do say things to each other they wouldn’t dare say to other bridge partners, but they always manage to return to the bridge table the next day in good spirits.

Back to “Should I play with my spouse?”  Only you can answer that one.  Think it over carefully.  Remember, you will not only be bridge partners, you will bring your marriage with you.  Then, whatever your choice, go out, bring home those masterpoints, and have a great time.

PS – I wouldn’t recommend keeping a loaded gun in the house…

“All married couples should learn the art of battle as they should learn the art of making love.” – Ann Landers.          

***

BOOK ORDERS NOW BEING ACCEPTED!

My classic book, SECRETS YOUR BRIDGE FRIENDS NEVER TELL YOU [endorsed by Marty Bergen] is now available in paperback!  To order an autographed copy. email me at chunsberger@cox.net (via email only – discounted at $5.95).  For more information, visit my website at www.cathyhunsberger.com.

Also available at amazon.com!

If you prefer an e-book visit ebooksbridge.com.

Leave a comment